Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring MVC with JPA support setup

Hi guys,

I'm new to spring and I'm trying to setup an MVC project with JPA.

Every tutorial regarding MVC that I have found is rather simple (meaning that there is no database).

Now, I have 2 ideas.

The first one is to create one MVC project and put all my packages in this project. Unfortunately, in this approach, STS doesn't let me add Entities since this is not a JPA project.

My second approach is to create 4 seperate projects (one for domain, one for persistence, one for service and one for MVC), but again I cannot understand what kind of "template" projects I need to use for each one of them.

Thank you for your help.

Hi,
    have you seen the PetClinic project? I think it does what you need:
    https://src.springframework.org/svn/...tclinic/trunk/

Regarding the issue you're having with your libs, the "usual" way is to use Maven for that. That's also why you'll see a pom.xml file inside the petclinic project.

Cheers,
    Michael.

Comment

Thank you Michael,

I have seen similar projects. What I cannot understand is how I initiate such a project in STS. Do I create a Maven project? If so, can I take advantage of STS spring specific features?
      Or I create a Spring MVC project?

Comment

Hi,
        the simplest way is to import it as a Maven project.
        File -> Import -> Existing Maven project
        It will then download all the dependencies you need, so this could take a while.

Cheers,
        Michael.

Comment

Thanks Michael again,

but maybe we have misunderstood each other. My real question is not how do I setup petclinic. I have successfully done that.
          But how I setup such a project from scratch. As a maven project?

Comment

Hi,
            here is how you can do:

1) create a new Maven project, using "File -> new -> Maven project"