Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• STS - Eclipse

Hi,

I am working on a project and planning to use spring, hibernate, JSF, weblogic server 11g on eclipse IDE. I am a newbie trying to understand STS and eclipse, I know installing STS will give eclipse IDE, but we really want to install all the plugins in the dropins folder so that we can share the folder. Can anyone please let me know the advantages of installing STS directly or add STS as a plugin to eclipse and the better way to use the dropins folder for other frameworks.

Thanks

I cannot answer your question directly, but there seems no better option than getting something going in the standard STS,
    and perhaps using that as a guide to rolling your own.

It would be interesting to see exactly what STS provides beyond the linking of Tomcat to Eclipse. What are the STS additions to such a mix?

Certainly one advantage would be in there testing that Tomcat/tcServer works in STS - but what else does STS provide?

Comment

Hi!

Originally posted by greeshma View Post
      Hi,

I am working on a project and planning to use spring, hibernate, JSF, weblogic server 11g on eclipse IDE. I am a newbie trying to understand STS and eclipse, I know installing STS will give eclipse IDE, but we really want to install all the plugins in the dropins folder so that we can share the folder. Can anyone please let me know the advantages of installing STS directly or add STS as a plugin to eclipse and the better way to use the dropins folder for other frameworks.

Thanks