X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SAML2 IDP initiated SSO - implementation help

I'm new to Spring, SAML & Security dev in general. I have been tasked with integration of a Spring Web App I'm developing, in an SAML2 IDP initiated SSO use case. In the last few weeks I have plunged heads-on to learning all this stuff and successfully configured the sample application in Tomcat 6, using ssocircle as IDP with HTTP-POST bindings and default selection of IDP - so I'm feeling more confident now.

However, I'd appreciate your guidance with my use case - just showing me the ropes will be much help.

A third-party that supports IDP initiated federation only, provides links to my app acting as SP. SP will receive SAML responses via HTTP-POST. Authentication assertions will be signed by a Verisign signed certificate - in p7b format. No authorization (user permissions) information will be provided from the IDP side - it will only authenticate. IDP will not participate in any session management and no Single Signout process will be available.

My app-SP will grant access/authorizations for logged on users, and provide local sign out only.

Questions:
    1.- How do I constrain SAML extension to only accept IDP initiated SSO?
    2.- How do I map IDP authenticated users to a repository of SP maintained users?
    3.- How do I check Verisign CRL (certification revocation list) and certificate expiration before verifying signature?
    4.- I'll need to validate response element contents (Issuer, Audience, Element, AuthnContextClassRef) against fixed values. How to do this?
    5.-How do I prevent message replay attacks in SAML extension?

And finally, but most importantly:

How does one test this kind of scenario in a local dev environment??

Thanks!
    Last edited by reyabreu; Mar 19th, 2013, 11:05 AM. Reason: minor grammar

Hi,

I can't answer the Spring specific questions (I wrote my own implementation on top of openSaml).