Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OAuth 2.0 Provider Integration with CAS SSO?

We want to use CAS as our SSO, but leverage OAuth 2.0 for our mobile application to communicate with our services. The mobile application should use the Resource Owner Password Credentials grant as outlined in section 4.3 of the OAuth 2.0 specification draft. CAS has an OAuth wrapper, but it only supports a Authorization Code grant type.

The idea is to use CAS for SSO for our web applications, and utilize a Spring application to act as an OAuth 2.0 wrapper for CAS that supports a Resource Owner Password Credentials workflow for our mobile app.

Is this possible? I'm somewhat new at SSO and OAuth.

Hi,

I'm the creator of the OAuth support for CAS.

Your scenario is not totally clear to me : you have a mobile application which is not a web application, haven't you ?
    You want to fill the login/password in this mobile app, check these information against the OAuth/CAS provider and then access web services using the same identity checked by the provider. Correct ?

Thanks.
    Best regards,
    Jérôme

Comment

Sounds right. We have a separate spring webapp providing a REST endpoint for the mobile app. The resource owner will be the user of the mobile application and provide his credentials through there.

Comment

Hi,

You could use both mechanisms (CAS or OAuth). It really depends on your skills/constraints and already existing service.

On one hand, you could authenticate with login/password at the CAS server by using its REST API and then get a service ticket to access your web service protected by a CAS client.

On the other hand, you could turn your web service into a resource and authorization OAuth 2 server by using the Spring Security OAuth library, authenticate with login/password, get an access token and use it to access the web service.

Best regards,
        Jérôme

Comment