Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how to get logged user id?

Hi,
    I could not find the answer anywhere yet. I am trying to get user id from a database.
    With SecurityContextHolder.getContext().getAuthenticati on().getName(); I can get user login, but is there a way to get its "user_id" field from the database?

I'm quite new to spring (roo) so sorry if it is a dump question.

Unfortunately, there isn't a simple answer to what you're asking.

I know you said you're new at this, but I'm assuming you are aware of what SecurityContextHolder.getContext().getAuthenticati on().getName() does. In case you're not...

SecurityContextHolder.getContext() returns SecurityContext that has been bound to the thread of execution by one of Spring Security's many filters. From that SecurityContext object, you can obtain the "principal" using getPrincipal(). This can be typecast as a UserDetails and you can get access to all of the usual user details that the UserDetails interface exposes. If you know exactly what underlying implementation of UserDetails is being used, you could cast directly to that type to get access to additional attributes as well.

If it isn't clear already, Spring Security relies very heavily on pluggable implementations of several different interfaces- with the aforementioned UserDetails being just one of those. Exactly which underlying implementation is being used is dependent on what sort of authentication mechanisms you are using. All of those are pluggable as well, obviously. Not all of those mechanisms necessarily involve the use of any sort of identifier (i.e. primary key) on the UserDetails implementations.