X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• conditional remember-me w/ openid

The openid sample app has remember-me configured, but has no checkbox for it on the login chooser page. I guess that this means that remember-me is always active.

To test remember-me, is it correct that I need to let the session time out (decrease my session timeout for practicality), because I think if you log out explicitly you should not be logged back in automatically. Is that correct? You can see that I have very little experience with remember-me. Happens to not have been a requirement for my apps until now (mostly due to security requirements).

My main question here is, with openid is it possible for the end user to specify that they want remember-me or not, as is typical with a checkbox on a traditional login page, in case the user is using a public PC, shared account, etc., or is just paranoid.

Originally posted by blaine View Post
    The openid sample app has remember-me configured, but has no checkbox for it on the login chooser page. I guess that this means that remember-me is always active.
    If you're talking about the 3.1 sample app (which uses a third-part OpenID selector library), then the remember-me server configuration is probably left over from when we had our own simple login page. It won't be active unless the remember-me parameter is submitted with the login request (i.e. uness the checkbox is present).

To test remember-me, is it correct that I need to let the session time out (decrease my session timeout for practicality), because I think if you log out explicitly you should not be logged back in automatically. Is that correct?
    You can simply close your browser and start a new session instead. Logging out will clear the remember-me cookie unless you configure it not to.