X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Method Invocation & Data Access Security

I continue finding myself coming back to Spring Security to bridge a security need I have in an application that is currently going into development. This web application leverages Hibernate, JPA, Struts 2, and already leverages the Spring libraries for dependency injection.

The security model needs of this application are somewhat dynamic. We need to be able to test whether a particular user can invoke a method within our service layer and once that decision has been made and allowed for said user, the data that which the user can operate against or retrieve must also be filtered based on their rights.

As I am a newbie to Spring Security and I find a number of the documents that describe it's flexibility a tad daunting at times; I hope that others who have a better grasp maybe can simplify it for me and illustrate some examples that can help me get started.

Lets assume we have a user community that contains those who can perform actions on purchase order. Some of these users are capable of creating this PO document while others are only capable of canceling, denying, or approving the purchase order. Taking this to the next level, all of these users are only capable of doing these purchase order operations within a specific company code and for a specific list of items.

How would I drive my authorizations from the database to restrict the invocation of the service layer methods and check the create, cancel, approve, deny portion and then only allow the operations to succeed if the item in question is within a specific company code or inventory associated to a company?

Take a look at the contacts sample application. You might also want to look at Mike's SpringOne presentation.

Comment