Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• authentication between servers

Hi,
    I have a Spring Security setup on one server with a game on it, and a web site on another server that serves a PHP/MySQL web site. I need to authenticate users that request the game, using the user profiles of my web site. I have some elementary knowledge of authentication managers, providers, user service and authentication entry point. Googling did not help to find a tutorial in my skill level (still newbie with Spring Security).

Is there any good tutorial/article or solution of the similar situation anyone could kindly point me to it please?

How do you want to authenticate the users? Is it just by connecting to the DB of the MySQL database with the java code or are you wanting something like Single Sign On? If you are wanting to get started with Spring Security I would start at the getting started page.

Comment

Originally posted by rwinch View Post
      How do you want to authenticate the users? Is it just by connecting to the DB of the MySQL database with the java code or are you wanting something like Single Sign On? If you are wanting to get started with Spring Security I would start at the getting started page.
      Rwinch, thank you, I already passed the link and practiced with 'Petclinic'. I have a working Spring Secuirty on my game application, but it is based on hard coded credentials in xml file, which I learned from 'Petclinic'.

Next I studied this great tutorial:
      GoogleAccountsAuthenticationEntryPoint

but still can't fully understand which class to extend, so that my game application after getting the authentication token, turns to the MySQL database of my web site and authenticates against the user table (actually, a Joomla user table).

From the tutorial of "" I learned that
      a) I have to implement AuthenticationEntryPoint
      b) make a filter: GenericFilterBean
      c) develope a custom Authentication Provider