Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Writing User Details incl password in LDAP

Greetings:

I have been spending a bit of time trying to figure out how to support letting users change their own details (including password) and put them in and LDAP server.

I am fine with doing authentication, and retrieving user details and role information from an LDAP server with Spring Security.

But is it correct to say that if I want to manage users (CRUD) I should probably be looking at Spring LDAP? I've been doing that and I seem to end up with things that looke suspicously like inetOrgPerson and the associated contectMappers except that I can set attributes of the user, not just get them.

I'm new to Spring, Spring Security, LDAP, Spring LDAP, and not trying to be lazy but I have run out of gas searching and reading.

Ted

There are two implementations -- JdbcUserDetailsManager and LdapUserDetailsManager -- of the UserDetailsManager interface that are provided by the framework. Alternatively, you might look into using the spring-security-ui grails plugin.

Comment

Yes, but....

Thanks for the reply.

LdapUserDetailsManager seemed perfect to me but all the crucial methods take a UserDetails object (I am/was using the InetOrgPerson).

However User Details objects are immutable so I can not seem to create a new and data fill it, nor can I change an existing UserDetails so as to give it to the Manager to change the LDAP stored values.

I also noticed that the various UserDetails implementation objects have inner Essence classes which allow setting of all the attributes I want - but I have to admit that I simply don;t understand how or if I can access the essence classes to effect changes. This may simply be a deficiency in some basic Java knowledge on my part.

Also, my GUI is in Flash so thought he Grails UI plugin you mention is just about spot on what I need, it does not work for me....

Thanks,

Ted

Comment