X
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on multiple authentication scheme (X509 / password)

This is my first time posting here, so let me know if I should be posting differently.

I am implementing a combined X509 authentication / password scheme using spring security 2.0.5 and I was curious if the following setup makes sense.

Primary Requirements:
    * Pull username from X509 certificate
    * Validate subjectDN contains a specific string
    * Confirm that a X509 extension value matches the value saved on the user.
    * User has the option to require password identification.

Secondary Requirements:
    * Extendable scheme as future clients will use X509 authentication with different business rules.

I've narrowed it down to 2 options that make sense to me:
    1) X509PreAuthenticatedProcessingFilter combined with a modified AuthenticationProcessingFilter. The AuthenticationManager for the X509 filter has a single provider that extends PreAuthenticatedAuthenticationProvider that, after the userDetails is retrieved, validates the X509 extension value against the retrieved user object. In addition it validates the subjectDN value (this is separate from retrieving the principal from the subjectDN value). The AuthenticationProcessingFilter overrides requiresAuthentication to fire only if the user has chosen to require password authentication.