X
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it safe to pass Authentication object during remote call?

Hi,
    I'm very new to Acegi - mainly just went through the documentation.
    From what I understand, the Authentication object contains all user information necessary to process an authentication and authorisation request. Even though that seems a perfect solution in a closed and controlled environment, I wonder how safe this approach is when calling remote servers.
    Additionally, isn't it easy for a potential hacker to create a fake Authentication object and use it to perform a remote call to an unsuspected server?
    Forgive me if I am missing the point here; it may be because I haven't really understood the way remote calls are handled in acegi.
    Thanks in advance for any clarifications.
    Kostas

Hi,

What do you see as being different between Acegi and any other remote authentication mechanism? The user's credentials (username/password, token, certificate etc.) are validated on each request so unless an attacker has access to these then they can't create a fake authentication object.

Luke.

Comment

Hi,
      My concern is in the case of Credentials = plain text password; from the acegi documentation it seems that plain text passwords are not used for CAS, f.i. But for the other authentication mechanisms, is there any reason why the Credentials supplied should remain in the Authentication object after the authentication process has finished?
      I understand that in case of multiple Authentication Providers you may need to pass it from one to the other, but possibly at the end when the providers have all been consulted, clear text passwords (only???) may be removed from the object.

The danger I see is someone eavesdropping the remote call and looking at the Authentication object. Then, he has the complete set of credentials required to login in any participating server.