Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring Security + Java SE

Hy everyone.
    I'm somewhat new to Spring Security but I do know the basics of Spring Framework (IoC).

I have to create a Java SE 100% full entire complete ( ) desktop application and the user must log in the system and can only perform tasks that he/she is granted to do.

Basically, every single method should be checked for permissions.

Searching the WEB I found that AOP could do that for me by filtering methods.
    However, I have come to this:

- Hibernate as persistency layer.
    - Model (business logic) layer based on POJOs with simple classes and methods for executing tasks.
    - View layer, based on Swing, that would create classes from within the business logic and execute methods within the objects.

Not sure if I said it right, I'm not too good with English

But that said, now I need to create a security layer for my app.
    There will be many users through my app. Every user must belong to a group that will define the user's permissions.

I thought about Spring Security because I am already using Spring within my app and that would make sense.
    But every time I search the web for Spring Security and Java SE all I get is "yes, ACEGI works with SWING" and ONLY this. no tips, no clue, no "how-to"s, no guides, NOTHING.

Does Spring Security really works for Java SE in this way? With no WEB APP defined, no container (like tomcat), just Java SE?
    Or would I need Spring AOP to do this job?

Not asking for a detailed tutorial...
    just a "where to start" for my problem.

Thanks.

Originally posted by LordALMMa View Post
    Hy everyone.
    I'm somewhat new to Spring Security but I do know the basics of Spring Framework (IoC).

I have to create a Java SE 100% full entire complete ( ) desktop application and the user must log in the system and can only perform tasks that he/she is granted to do.