X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Authentication method for RPC

I'm fairly new to Acegi and I just need a little push in the right direction.

I'm working with Laszlo which offers RPC functionality for calling methods on Java objects from a rich-flash client. The Java objects reside on a web server and I believe the flash client (created by Laszlo) just calls the main Laszlo servlet and the HttpRequest object contains the name of a class and the method within that class to call.

I would like to secure the methods on the Java class hosted on my web server that is being called from the flash client. Since the RPC request goes through the Laszlo servlet, and since I'm wanting to secure methods in a Java class being called by that servlet, should use method security or filter security or a combination of the two?

Keep in mind that the Laszlo servlet is accessed for other reasons beside the RPC calls, so it cannot be entirely locked down. It must receive anonymous calls, but when the servlet acts as a proxy for calling methods on my Java class, I would like Acegi to step in an check the users credientals. It almost seems to me that I need to setup a filter that applies method-security rather than file (JSP) security.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

I think you should be OK as long as you have the filters in place. You don't actually need to deny access to any URLs but they are needed to allow Acegi to interact with the Http requests and to kick off the login process when an AuthenticationException occurs. If you have a look at the SecurityEnforcementFilter

http://acegisecurity.sourceforge.net...entFilter.html

and AbstractSecurityInterceptor classes

http://acegisecurity.sourceforge.net...terceptor.html

you'll see that the filter can initiate a login even if the AuthenticationException originates because of an attempt to access one of your business beans.

Luke.

Comment