Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Active Directory Auth. using j_username and j_password as managerDN and managerPasswo Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
This topic is closed
X
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Active Directory Auth. using j_username and j_password as managerDN and managerPasswo

I am new to java, spring and acegi and have been using the tutorial to get a simple web app up and running. Active Directory does not allow anonymous authentication so I must enter a valid managerDN and managerPassword in my content.xml file for DefaultInitialDirContextFactory to bind to ldap.

We require our passwords to change every 60 days so if I hard-coded a manager password in it would eventually fail. I want to use j_username and j_password from my login form when I bind to ldap. But as soon as you start the web app it runs the DefaultInitialDirContextFactory. At that time it needs a valid managerDN and managerPassword to work. Well, I don't have the j_username or j_password values yet.

Is there a way to change the flow so that I don't need to bind to ldap until I can capture the j_username and j_password? How would I go about doing this?

Thanks for any help!

Can you explain what you mean by "runs the DefaultInitialDirContextFactory"?

If you look at the constructor for this class

http://acegisecurity.org/multiprojec...ctory.html#119

you'll see that it doesn't attempt to bind when the bean is created, so you'll need to provide more information on where it fails.

Comment

Thanks for responding. Sorry for being unclear.
      If I have valid data in my context.xml for managerDN and managerPassword my stdout log file starts with these two lines:
      [INFO,DefaultInitialDirContextFactory,ContainerBack groundProcessor[StandardEngine[Catalina]]] URL 'ldap://earth.ad.ilstu.edu/DC=ad,DC=ilstu,DC=edu', root DN is 'DC=ad,DC=ilstu,DC=edu'