Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HessianProtocolException with incorrect login

Hello,
    I am new to Acegi and am trying to get it working for my application, which is a SWT thick client talking to Business Methods in Tomcat (via Hessian).
    I have it mostly working but I have the following hangup: when I try to authenticate a user with bad credentials (ie, bad password), I get a HessianProtocolException:
    org.springframework.remoting.RemoteAccessException : Cannot access Hessian service at [http://localhost:8081/GraceWeb/Remote/SampleManager]; nested exception is com.caucho.hessian.io.HessianProtocolException: etc...

This is not what I would expect. I would expect a BadCredentialsException, I guess.

When I have a user who doesn't have enough privileges to call a certain method (but has a correct u/p), I get a lovely:
    net.sf.acegisecurity.AccessDeniedException: Access is denied.
    as I would expect.

Why am I getting the HessianProtocolException instead of the BadCredentialsException in the first scenario? I can provide config info if necessary.

Btw: excellent work, Ben! This is so much better than trying to get security working with JBoss (where I am migrating from). I never could get it to work because the docs were so sparse and there were no examples. But Acegi is much more usable.

Thanks,
    Matt

Acegi Security uses BASIC authentication with the remoting protocols. It implements RFC 1945 (http://www.faqs.org/rfcs/rfc1945.html), section 11.1. As such it can only return HTTP headers consistent with "authentication failed", as per the RFC. At an implementation level Acegi Security re-launches the BasicProcessingFilterEntryPoint, which sends back a 401 response with a "WWW-Authenticate" header.

Remoting protocols will handle 401s in different ways. Typically they'll fail in a non-graceful manner, such as you're seeing with Hessian.