X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building ACEGI with Maven 101

I'm new to Maven and I can't build the core release 1.0.3. I get the error :

Code:
    [INFO] Scanning for projects...
    [INFO] Searching repository for plugin with prefix: 'jar'.
    [INFO] ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [INFO] Building Acegi Security System for Spring
    [INFO]    task-segment: [jar:jar]
    [INFO] ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [INFO] [jar:jar]
    [WARNING] JAR will be empty - no content was marked for inclusion!
    [INFO] Building jar: [directory_here]\acegi\release_1_0_3\core\target\acegi-security-1.1-SNAPSHOT.jar
    [INFO] ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [INFO] BUILD SUCCESSFUL
    [INFO] Total time: 1 second
    [INFO] Finished at: Tue Jan 09 15:09:00 EST 2007
    [INFO] Final Memory: 2M/6M
    Howcome the jar file is empty ?? How do I mark files for inclusion ?

Problem solved.

FYI : ACEGI builds with Maven 1, not Maven 2...

Comment

Originally posted by lucboudreau View Post
      Problem solved.

FYI : ACEGI builds with Maven 1, not Maven 2...
      Yes, and it makes perfect sense why the Maven developers couldn't be arsed to make Maven 2 backwards compatible.

What a PITA. Maven should be banished to the 9th circle of Hell.

Comment

Maven 2 is very different from maven 1, so I'm not quite sure what you mean by backwards compatible - projects can choose to use either for their build. We are moving to using Maven 2, so there are project.xml and pom.xml files currently in the source tree, but support for maven 1 will be dropped as soon as possible.

It isn't correct to say that Acegi doesn't build with maven 2 since that's what is used to produce the nightly builds. If you're not familiar with maven then I'd recommend downloading one of these in preference to building yourself.