Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [newbie] single user authorities?

Hello
    I'm a newbie of Acegi for Spring and a I've got a little experience with Spring.
    Until now I've used the schema of JpetStore example (SimpleUrlHandlerMapping with signonInterceptor) to secure my apps but now I need more flexibility and features so I wanna try Acegi

This is the scenario:
    - I've to protect various area of my application from different user type
    - I have Admin users, group users and single users with specific authorities
    - I must have the possibility to decide what group and single user can see in every JSP page (form field/table report column/link) and can do
    - all this authorities must be dynamic: administrators can create/modify/delete and assign/revoke them to users at runtime through web interface (so everything goes in DB)

well, I've read reference and forum and I think I've got an idea on how to set up area protection and group roles but: how can I define authorities for single user and decide what he can see/do in every JSP page

maybe it's a stupid question but, remember, I'm a newbie ;-)

Your AuthenticationDao is responsible for returning a UserDetails object, which contains the list of GrantedAuthority[]s applicable for a given principal (user). As such it's your choice how to model this in terms of groups and users and the implementations of GrantedAuthority to use. Generally people just use a USER table, a ROLE table, with a many:many relationship between them. They then use GrantedAuthorityImpl for the concrete implementation they return in UserDetails. This is demonstrated in the Hypersonic directory included in the release ZIPs along with JdbcDaoImpl.