X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Active Directory authentication in Spring 3.1

I'm fairly new to Spring and setting up active directory authentication as described here in section 19.5.
    http://static.springsource.org/sprin...ngle.html#ldap

I have the authentication provider and associated bean set up in the security file:

<authentication-manager alias="authenticationManager">
    <authentication-provider ref="adAuthenticationProvider"/>
    </authentication-manager>
    <beans:bean id="adAuthenticationProvider" class="org.springframework.security.ldap.authentic ation.ad.ActiveDirectoryLdapAuthenticationProvider ">
    <beans:constructor-arg value="my.domain" />
    <beans:constructor-arg value="ldap://my.ldap.server/" />
    <!-- Convert AD errors. -->
    <beansroperty name="convertSubErrorCodesToExceptions" value="true" />
    </beans:bean>

When supplying an invalid password I see the following error, which looks correct:
    org.springframework.security.ldap.authentication.a d.ActiveDirectoryLdapAuthenticationProvider handleBindException
    INFO: Active Directory authentication failed: Supplied password was invalid

Every time a valid user/password is provided I get this exception:
    org.springframework.security.ldap.SpringSecurityLd apTemplate searchForSingleEntryInternal
    INFO: Ignoring PartialResultException

I've tried adding the base to the LDAP URL like this:
    <beans:constructor-arg value="ldap://my.ldap.server/dc=comp1,dc=comp1" />

This gives a different error:
    org.springframework.security.ldap.authentication.a d.ActiveDirectoryLdapAuthenticationProvider doAuthentication
    SEVERE: Failed to locate directory entry for authenticated user: user1
    javax.naming.NameNotFoundException: [LDAP: error code 32 - 0000208D: NameErr: DSID-0310020A, problem 2001 (NO_OBJECT), data 0, best match of:
    'DC=comp1,DC=comp2'
    ]; remaining name 'dc=comp1,dc=comp2'