Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• authentication-manager: "id" vs "alias"

Hi,

I'm a bit new to Spring Security... maybe someone can explain the difference between "id" and "alias" when defining my authentication-manager(s)? i saw both usages in the samples, including ref-ing these two, without understanding the diff between them

thanks!

It is the same, but the alias existed before the id. The id was created for a consistent experience. Also see the Namespace Appendix documentation on authentication-manager@id.

Comment

Thanks, Rob!

Comment

While working with oAuth, i need to define 2 authentication providers. In their samples, I saw that one is defined with "id", and the other one with "alias".
        As I understood from Rob and from the documentation, the "id" is similar to the "alias". So i've tried to define both authentication-managers with an "id" (different id for each one, of course...).

Code:
            <security:authentication-manager id="clientAuthenticationManager">
                <security:authentication-provider user-service-ref="clientDetailsUserService" />
            </security:authentication-manager>
        and in this one i changed to "id" instead of "alias":

Code:
        	<security:authentication-manager id="authenticationManager">
        		<security:authentication-provider user-service-ref="userDetailsService" />
        	</security:authentication-manager>
        I got a runtime error,
        ...Caused by: org.springframework.beans.factory.NoSuchBeanDefini tionException: No bean named 'org.springframework
        .security.authenticationManager' is defined.

Can you explain why? can't I have 2 different authentication-managers defined with an "id"? when I change the "id" back to "alias" - it is working ...

Please advise,
        Thanks!

Comment

I suppose I should elaborate. Internally, Spring Security uses the id org.springframework