Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
How can I setup spring-security to return BeanPropertyBindingResult validation errors Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How can I setup spring-security to return BeanPropertyBindingResult validation errors

I'm somewhat new to Spring3 framework and am interested in leveraging as much as possible from it, but it appears that some things don't necessarily work so well with other things, so there are some limits. I've gone through many tutorial/example apps and have got annotation based form validation working with 'javax.validation.Valid' (the hibernate reference impl).

I was looking at setting up form-based, container-managed security and discovered spring-security, so got an example of that working using 'springSecurityFilterChain/DelegatingFilterProxy' and 'http auto-config/authentication-manager'. This uses an XML-based 'authentication-provider/user-service', which of course I would want to change to a database/ldap provider later.

So the login form will validate, but error messages come from 'sessionScope["SPRING_SECURITY_LAST_EXCEPTION"].message', and not 'BeanPropertyBindingResult', so I am unable to get the normal validation error messages I expect using the spring 'form:errors' tag, even though I've passed 'BindingResult result' into my 'loginfailed/loginerror' Controller method.

I read that this has something to do with having two contextListeners: dispatcher-servlet and spring-security, and that these validation error messages are associated with one or the other but not both.

If spring validation and security are so flexible, why isn't there a way to tie the two together?

I see that a Mr. Deinum addressed this issue 2 1/2 years ago, where he says: