Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best practices with Spring Roo , JSON and Ajax

Hello,

I am very new to Spring Roo and also new to Spring MVC ....

So I have the following problem:

I need a filterable list which has several filteroptions, like lets say a product finder while browsing the page.

I want this list to be updated dynamically.

My approach was to write a JSON based Spring controller (using the @RequestBody annotation and the ContentNegotiatingViewResolver) with all the finders I need and then using DOJO and normal HTML Inputelements to create this list. Is this the "Roo/Spring" way, or is there any component library where I should choose and extend an existing list (like a taglib or something)

Help would be really appreciated !
    Last edited by cblicious; Feb 12th, 2011, 04:38 AM.

You can indeed use JSON to do Ajax quickly with Roo. The good news is that Roo includes FlexJSON to make that easy, and also that you already have a number of AJAX-ready components available with Dojo, which is also built in to Roo.

(edit: I just re-read your original post and see you already know Dojo - that's going to save you a bit of time as you already know most of the Dojo side of this post - but hopefully this will be a guide for others too.)

If you want to emit Ajax from a controller method the easiest way, do two things:
    • Add @RooJson to your class-level annotations on your entity or bean that you want to send as Ajax - for bean Foo, Roo creates Foo_Roo_Json.aj, which includes static toJson(), fromJson(), toJsonArray() and fromJsonArray() methods. This happens when you run the Roo shell after saving your update to the bean.
    • Use a @ResponseBody on the method to return the Ajax data as JSON

So your method would look something like:

Code:
    @RequestMapping
    public @ResponseBody String getAjaxList() {
        Foo result =     // do something here...
        return ResultObject.toJson(result);
    }