Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parsing string to datetime in form custom view

Hello everyone,

I am stuck with a problem here. First off, i am a complete newbie, so i hope i can make myself clear and that this question does not come too obvious.

I am trying to generate custom views for a roo project using tiles, jspx and custom controllers too. The project works over a postgres DB. The scaffold views generated by ROO work fine.

In my custom view I have a form for new users requiring a date for the birthday, but when i submit the form i get this error on the browser, right below the birthday input:

Failed to convert property value of type java.lang.String to required type java.util.Date for property birthDate; nested exception is org.springframework.core.convert.ConversionFailedE xception: Unable to convert value "2010-10-04" from type java.lang.String to type java.util.Date; nested exception is java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Invalid format: "2010-10-04" is malformed at "10-10-04"

Here is the line for the datetime input in my jspx file:
    HTML Code:
    <field:datetime field="birthDate" id="newUserForm_birthDate" required="true" dateTimePattern="${profile_birthdate_date_format}" label="Fecha de nacimiento" z=""/>
    and i copied the following java methods from the aj file to my java controller file:
    • public String create(@Valid Profile profile, BindingResult result, Model model)
    • void registerConverters(WebDataBinder binder) with the annotation @InitBinder
    • void addDateTimeFormatPatterns(Model model)
    • Converter<Profile, String> getProfileConverter()

I copied other methods, but i thinks those are not related to this problem.

I found a similiar problem in the WEB forum here, but i can not tell where the equivalent files are, the ones generated by ROO.

I do not know what to try next. Can anyone point me in the right direction?
    Thanks.

Solution

I found the solution to this problem,