X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using Roo for Multi Tenant Apps - UI

I'm new to Roo (and fairly new to Spring) and one of the criteria I'm looking to fulfill is a solution for building multi-tenant applications.

For different tenants using the same application instance, they often want to modify the look and feel of their application. This could take the form of changing the colours and layouts via CSS, changing the labels and order of fields, hiding given fields (that aren't used), adding additional fields (which is obviously far more complex), etc.

Can anyone provide any guidance on how to implement such an approach with Roo?

Most of that sounds like it will need to be custom logic you will build, not something that roo will help with.
    It all sounds 'easy enough' to do manually (the biggest unknown from your post is what you mean by allowing your tennant to do it themselves).

Comment

On the UI side, I don't see it as "logic" so much, but perhaps that's just semantics. I'm thinking along the lines of using a search rule for the UI components: search for an tenant-specific version of a file. If it's not found, use the standard definition.

As far as the tenant being able to define to make the changes themselves, I'm thinking along the lines of them being given write access to a directory on the host and if they drop the appropriate file in place, it will be picked up (preferably automatically, without restarting Tomcat).

whyBish, you mention that it all sounds 'easy enough' to do manually. As this is all fairly new to me, I'd be grateful for any tips or pointers in the direction of appropriate reading materials.

Thanks heaps,
      Jamie

Comment

Some options
        * To change css per tenant