X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roo and Jackson Views

After some 2 weeks working with Roo and Jackson integration I decided to post this to the forum hoping that other people can benefit from the knowledge. I understand that there were easier ways to do what I wanted, but I like to see things working integrated and explore frameworks full capabilities.

As a mostly lazy programmer I quite enjoy clever frameworks that are easy to work with and need no tweaks at all - that's what made me work with Roo. Playing around I felt the need to have a json serialization schema set up and to my pleasant surprise there was MappingJacksonJsonView and it's magic serialization capabilities, which led me to the ORM x Serialization conumdrum. Having the classic parent-child (master-detail) setup it was not long before StackOverflowException showed up - because Child references Parent which contains a list of childs re-referencing Child. So I dug a little the serialization API - Jackson - and found the concept of Views.

Basically a view lets you determine which properties should be serialized for a particular session. The basic mechanism is setup by having marker classes - which allow for view inheritance - and adding @JsonView(Class<?>) annotations to properties, which could be methods or fields...or maybe just methods.
    As Spring Roo works with aspects to ease the pain of coding getters and setters, my Entities had only the private fields, which I annotated. To my surprise, the annotations were ignored because the default Jackson serialization schema will auto-detect getters/settters AND fields and compute properties using that order of precendence. So basically, as I had getters and they were not annotated the fields were skipped because the logical properties had already been detected. Ok...