Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I add a field to an existing class

Hi All:
    I am very new to roo. Trying to write a sample. When I try adding a field to an exiting domain class roo complains . I have tried the following without any luck.

A)
    field date doj --type java.util.Date
    java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Java source code details unavailable for type SRC_MAIN_JAVA/com.stragure.hrms.domain.Employee

B) field date doj --type java.util.Date ~.domain.Employee
    You cannot add more than one default option ('~.domain.Employee') in a single command

c) field date --fieldName doj --type java.util.Date --class ~.domain.Employee
    Java source code details unavailable for type SRC_MAIN_JAVA/com.stragure.hrms.domain.Employee
    java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Java source code details unavailable for type SRC_MAIN_JAVA/com.stragure.hrms.domain.Employee

I am struggling to find the rite syntax maybe but tab hints lead to commands shown in (c) above but does not work and I am not sure what ava source code details unavailable for type SRC_MAIN_JAVA means...

Regards,
    rohit

Hi Rohit,

It appears that the Employee type does not exist yet.

In order to add a field you need to have an existing type present. So in your example you would issue two commands:

Code:
    entity --name ~.domain.Employee
    field date --type java.util.Date --fieldName doj
    The second command will add the doj field to the Employee type. In case you want to add that field to another (already existing) type you would need to use the --class attribute:

Code:
    field date --type java.util.Date --fieldName doj --class ~.domain.MyOtherType
    The trick is to use the tab key as much as possible when typing your commands. That will reveal which attributes are available on commands and which attributes are mandatory.