Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• public setter for id field - necessary?

Hi

Why is it necessary to have public setters for id properties on entities? I've noticed that if I override an id property in my java source then the ROO shell warns me that I am missing a setID() method but all seems to work OK.

Just curious really, is there somepart of the framework that need public mutators for id and version?

Jon

Jon,

This is indeed a little annoying as it breaks with the concept of immutability for ids and version fields. However, since the entities are also used as form backing objects the mutators for these fields are needed to convert data submitted through forms (PUT) back into a session attached entity. We are looking into alternatives.

-Stefan

Comment

I guess something using aspectj inter-type declarations to expose additional setters/getters only in the web tier might an idea. Thoug, I am a novice with Aspectj so don't really know what can be done.

Jon

Comment

Originally posted by Stefan Schmidt View Post
        Jon,

This is indeed a little annoying as it breaks with the concept of immutability for ids and version fields. However, since the entities are also used as form backing objects the mutators for these fields are needed to convert data submitted through forms (PUT) back into a session attached entity. We are looking into alternatives.

-Stefan
        DataBinder.initDirectFieldAccess()?

--
        Jukka

Comment