X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frustrated with the Roo JSP Implementation

I have decided to use Roo with JSF because I wanted to use PrimeFaces, however, the way Roo has implemented it frustrates me.

All the forms are implemented as Dialogs and although it works with Firefox, I can't get it to work for IE. I have attempted to change the Dialogs to Panels, but the behaviour is very inconsistent. For example, I set the closeable attribute to TRUE, but no Close button displays.

I must admit I am no JSF expert, so any pointer would help, or should I just can this whole JSF idea. I am sold on the JPA implementation of Roo though, so would like to stick to that.

BTW, thread title should not have JSP, but rather JSF.
    Last edited by henryve; Jun 30th, 2012, 05:47 AM.

My expirience with the ROO generated UI (Jsp's + Controllers):
    It fits perfectly for simple CRUD UI's but as soon as you need more it becomes hard.
    You should better build the UI yourself if you need more than simple CRUD, but you can use Roo still up to the service layer level. Further more I would really recommend everybody to use Roo generated DAOs and not ActiveRecord-entities since Spring JPA data is much more capable then the AR-approach.

Other alternative could be to extend the UI addons. I looked into the code, but it is still very abstract for me what's going on here with all this metadata stuff, AspectJ and code generators

Just my 2 ct...

Comment

Originally posted by spgmx View Post
      My expirience with the ROO generated UI (Jsp's + Controllers):
      It fits perfectly for simple CRUD UI's but as soon as you need more it becomes hard.