X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to make Roo UI more usable for this kind of model

My first post. I have been using spring for a few years, its been great. The docs are clear and code is enough to get you around. I am trying Roo right now as a potential candidate for a stop gap solution. We are looking for a RAD to do some CRUD for us, with minimal coding. As this would be a throw away solution. Roo seems to fit the bill as it will be similar to the current stack we use Java/Scala, spring, jpa/hibernate. This way it would not be a big change for the other developers.

Our typical domain model follows the color model pattern. Something like this Archetypal Domain Shape

So I gave Roo a try after going through the pizza tutorial.

The model is a contrived one, but represents what we have. There is a Person entity, which can have a Owner role. As some point in time it would have an Ownership to a Thing entity.

Here is the commands I put in.
    Code:
    project --topLevelPackage rootest
    jpa setup --provider HIBERNATE --database H2_IN_MEMORY

entity jpa --class ~.domain.model.Thing

entity jpa --class ~.domain.model.Ownership

entity jpa --class ~.domain.model.Owner

entity jpa --class ~.domain.model.Person

focus --class ~.domain.model.Thing
    field string --fieldName name --notnull
    field set --fieldName ownerships --type ~.domain.model.Ownership

focus --class ~.domain.model.Ownership
    field date --fieldName effectiveFrom --type java.util.Date
    field date --fieldName effectiveTo --type java.util.Date
    field reference --fieldName owner --type ~.domain.model.Owner
    field reference --fieldName thing --type ~.domain.model.Thing

focus --class ~.domain.model.Owner
    field reference --fieldName party --type Person
    field set --fieldName ownerships --type ~.domain.model.Ownership

focus --class ~.domain.model.Person
    field string --fieldName firstName --notnull