Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using Spring Roo with DTO, service and repository patterns

Hi,
    I am new to Spring Roo, so please excuse me if my questions are little naive.
    I tried to create a simple application containing domain objects and REST interface (similar to the PizzaShop sample). It worked great, without any problems.
    Now I wanted to re-create the same application using DTO, service and repository patterns. Following is what I am trying to achieve:-
    1) Repository will work on the domain objects and handle all the database related stuff.
    2) Services will enclose the business logic and use the repository to access the domain models. Services will convert the domain model to DTO object.
    3) Controller will access the services and will operate with the JSON for DTO objects and provide REST interface.

So I took the following approach:-
    1) Generated the domain objects using "entity jpa" command. Added the attributes to the domain objects.
    2) Generated the repository for the domain objects using "repository jpa --interface" for the domain objects.
    3) I created the DTO objects using "entity jpa" commands. I manually removed the @RooJpaEntity annotations to prevent the database tables getting created for these objects. I could have achieved this using the "class" command, but couldn't figure out a way to generate the *_Roo_JavaBean.aj file.
    4) Added json to the DTO objects using "json add " command.
    5) I created the service layer using "service --interface" for the DTO objects. This created the *_Service_Roo_Service.aj file with unimplemented methods, which is fair enough since there is no repository nor any JPA entity associated with DTO object. So, I will have to implement these methods manually.
    6) Generated the controllers for the DTO objects using "web mvc json" command.

Following are the problems faced by me:-