X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Other UI choices

I really want to be able to use Html 5 with CSS3 with Html5 templating instead of Tiles. I don't want to use GWT, JSF2 but straight forward simpler HTML 5.

Is it possible to do that with ROO 1.1.5? How about ROO 1.2.RC1? Or is it planned for future versions of ROO. I am not really good at Web UIs and find that many of the UI frameworks that you can choose with ROO are great if you have lots of experience in UIs, but for those of us that are mostly middle tier find it difficult to customize what gets generated. I really like Grails' approach with their gsp pages and their way to created templates/components with just tags.

I was trying to see how I could customize stuff with the tagx files, but that was as straightforward to me either.

Thanks

Mark

@bytor99999,

Could you elaborate why you think
    Html 5 with CSS3 with Html5 templating instead of Tiles
    is better than the other options you mentioned...

Thank you and B. Roogards
    jD

Review other UI options for Roo at http://pragmatikroo.blogspot.com/view/snapshot

Comment

I am trying to make my website look very much like sites like Twitter, Evernote, FireCore, Tumblr, etc.

I do like JSF because it is very event driven and my UI experience has been with rich clients like VB, Foxpro way back and that event driven approach makes much more sense to me than request/response. However, the JSF libraries which I have used like RichFaces doesn't have the exact look I want.

As far as GWT is concerned it is too niche for me. Yes the niche is large, but not what I want to spend my time learning.

I am also taking the website and creating mobile apps for it, and I plan on using Phone Gap which uses Html5 and Javascript and I want to keep both UIs using the same technologies.