Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• STS abnormally slow, GWT add-on questions

Hi,

as stated in a previous post, I'm quite new with SpringSource and Roo. I'm a Junior JavaEE dev.

This is not really a problem, just to see if anyone experience the same frustration using STS and Roo.

My setup:
    - Windows 7 64 bit (clean install)
    - STS 2.8.0
    - Roo 1.1.5.RELEASE [rev d3a68c3]
    - JDK 1.7.0_01 64 bit

- Core2Duo [email protected], 4go RAM

First, I'm very impressed by Roo, the code generation and everything is really suit. But I'm having some "problems".

I have the feeling that my computer is an old peace of crap. I'm toying around with Roo, making some basic projects just to see how everything is working, having the springsource and roo doc alongside. And every action is taking so long I even though Eclipse wasn't responding anymore.

My final goal is to make Spring and GWT work together and having Roo to generate all CRUD things. So here I am, making a brand new Roo project. Setup the persistence and making a basic entity. That's all!

Now, eclipse already takes some time to build the workspace but nothing big. After this, I want to incorporate GWT and thus I type "gwt setup" in the Roo shell. It takes some time to generate all the classes and everything but it's ok, no complains.

But now it's when the fun starts. Every action just freezes my computer. Opening Eclipse takes about 5 minutes. Every change in the project properties takes a lot more. The "building workspace" is my nightmare.

The only thing I managed to get so far, after one day of tests and a lot of waiting is to try the Roo default MVC web generated pages and to test it in the default tomcat 7 server. For that purpose I had to change the timeout from 120seconds to 360 just to be able to launch the server.