Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bidirectional One-To-One?

hi,
    i'm new to roo and just playing around with 1.1.5 release and the latest 1.2 snapshot... and i'm wondering, that it is possible to get bidirectional one-to-many & many-to-many relationships by means of the --mappedBy attribute, but i've found no way to setup bidirectional one-to-one relationships (especially in 1.2 snapshot)? i've searched the forum but unfortunately got no satisfying answer.

imagine 2 entities, order and invoice. an order can have one invoice (in case of a correctly completed order), an invoice has to belong to one order.
    Code:
    field reference --fieldName invoice --type ~.domain.Invoice --cardinality ONE_TO_ONE
    added to entity order manages the orders invoice, but what's about the other way round? or do i have to go the way round order, to find out to which order an invoice belongs to?

as a workaround i've defined a one-to-many / many-to-one relationship and limited the field set to --sizeMin 0 and --sizeMax 1, but that should not be the way it goes... quite poor, don't you think
    and it does not avoid the possibility to give two different invoices the same order-id...?!

any hints on that would be appreciated! THX!
    Last edited by tiny969; Sep 8th, 2011, 05:37 AM.

You're right; looking at the Roo source code (and the section of the reference docs that we automatically generate from it), the "mappedBy" option is only available for the "field set" command. This seems like an omission; please log an "improvement" ticket in JIRA to have this option added.

As an alternative workaround, you can add a 1:1 field both ways, then manually add the "mappedBy" attribute to the inverse side of the relationship yourself; this should be neater than the workaround you described above.

Comment

thank you for your answer. i tried to add a --field reference both ways, following my example above. please correct me if i'm wrong:

Code: