Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ROO vs GWTP (to develop with GWT and GAE) ?

Hi,

I want to develop a web app with GWT and hosted on the GAE. I do not care about the choice of the DAL (JPA or Objectify....) and I would prefer to use a MVP rather than a MVC (but it is not mandatory).

So, I am not an expert at all, but it seems that GWTP has a better 'enthusiam' than ROO to develop on the GAE with GWT.

My question, is, currently : "which tool should I choose for my requirement ?" (because I know that ROO does a lot of more, it is a RAD, but what is important for me are only the features I am planning to use, such as AJAX programming, GWT widgets, and GAE datastore...).

Does ROO 'perfectly' work with GWT on the GAE ? ...because I heard a lot of discussion not encouraging me to use it (I mainly want to develop my UI in GWT and will need to use the Google datastore).

Can you help me to see clearly how things happens (Does my ideas are correct)?

Tkx,

I've seen GWTP, but not too familiar with it. I've been developing a substantial sized gwt webapp using STS and Spring ROO now for a few months. ROO is great for initially getting your project going. If you know what all your domain objects should look like, you can quickly scaffold together a gwt interface that will allow CRUDing stuff. From there out ROO serves mainly as an add-on to quickly edit additional entities. This can come in handy because gwt requires a substantial amount of boiler plate for using things like the RequestFactory. Roo will generate the proxies and other files needed to actively make requests from the client to server to fetch your entities. Otherwise, the things you mentioned like widgets and GAE datastore is all the same. ROO will setup GAE for you initially (I believe it works fine, I don't use it myself), widgets are widgets and roo doesn't mess with them.