Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Newbie Help: AMS agent does not discover JBOSS server instance Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Help: AMS agent does not discover JBOSS server instance

Hi,
    I am new to JMX and AMS. I am trying to get AMS agent discover the JBoss server instance in AMS dashboard. I started the agent and it did not discover JBoss server. I have not yet configured my JBoss or AMS agent other than starting the two.

Can you please point me to some documentation or steps highlighting how a JBoss server is auto discovered. I do not see the instance popping up in the inventory.

What am I missing

Thanks
    Pramod

Hi,
    Can you check your agent log - located in AMS_HOME/agent-VERSION/log/agent.log for any Exceptions? Which version of JBoss server are you running? Which operating system are you running on?

There is some documentation located in AMS_HOME/server-VERSION/doc/DOC/JBoss.html that might be helpful.

Thanks,
    Jennifer Hickey
    SpringSource AMS Project Lead

Comment

I am using JBoss 4.0.5. Running this on windows xp. I am not sure if this helped.
      Now, when I start JBoss with these additional arguments, I am able to see spring.application MBean in JConsole.

VM arguments:*
      -Dcom.sun.management.jmxremote
      -Djboss.platform.mbeanserver
      -Djavax.management.builder.initial = org.jboss.system.server.jmx.MBeanServerBuilderImpl
      -Dspring.managed.application.name=itg

When I check amsagent.log, I see the following exception:

Are there additional arguments I need to pass when I start JBoss server. Please help.

Thanks
      Pramod