X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• JMX App Start/Stop AppContext

Is there a class in the spring distribution with a main method that will start up an app context using one or more xml files provided as arguments? Better yet, is there something like this that also provides a jmx option to shutdown the app context?

My app context uses a ScheduledExecutorFactoryBean to create and start a ScheduledExecutorService so all my main method does right now is create the app context. I'd like to remove the class I wrote and use something provided in the spring distribution if it exists. I'm also looking to add a jmx option to shutdown the app context to stop the app gracefully.

I'm fairly new to Spring and apologize if this has been discussed on this forum in other posts. I have tried searching but haven't found what I am looking for.

I am currently using the following solution. It works, but the client application that shuts down the main app via JMX throws stack traces. The client app calls close() on the main app's appContext and while the appContext shuts down the JMX connection is broken. I am not sure how to get around this.

The main application:
    Code:
    public class AppStart {
    	public static void main(String args[]) {
    		new ClassPathXmlApplicationContext(args).registerShutdownHook();
    	}
    }
    The main application's jmx settings:
    Code:
    <beans>

<bean id="appShutdownSupport"
    		class="my.own.class.ApplicationShutdownSupport" />

<bean id="serverConnector"
    		class="org.springframework.jmx.support.ConnectorServerFactoryBean"
    		depends-on="mbeanServer">
    		<property name="daemon" value="true" />
    	</bean>

<bean id="mbeanServer"
    		class="org.springframework.jmx.support.MBeanServerFactoryBean" />

<!-- this bean must not be lazily initialized if the exporting is to happen -->
    	<bean id="exporter"
    		class="org.springframework.jmx.export.MBeanExporter"