Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Spring 2.0 Notification Problems "Failed to deserialize a notification" Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring 2.0 Notification Problems "Failed to deserialize a notification"

I am trying to do a very simple prototype application using Spring 2.0 with it's JMX support. The issue I am having is I am getting the following warning from jconsole when I register for notifications for my sample MBean:

WARNING: Failed to deserialize a notification: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.real.common.bandwidth.ByteGenerator (no security manager: RMI class loader disabled)

On the face of it it's pretty simple - the client, in this case jconsole, needs to have access to the ByteGenerator bytecode.

I am no JMX expert but looking at the Javadoc for Notification it says:

The Notification class represents a notification emitted by an MBean. It contains a reference to the source MBean: if the notification has been forwarded through the MBean server, and the original source of the notification was a reference to the emitting MBean object, then the MBean server replaces it by the MBean's ObjectName. If the listener has registered directly with the MBean, this is either the object name or a direct reference to the MBean.

It is strongly recommended that notification senders use the object name rather than a reference to the MBean object as the source.
    This seems to suggest that Spring should be replacing my actual object with the name that it was registered with in it's MBean server. Am I missing something with my code/config below which is preventing this from happening?

Thanks for any help in advance,

Ian.

Code and XML follows - read if helpful
    =======================

The code for the bean is simple enough too (I had to make a couple of fields transient to prevent NotSerializableExceptions):