Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Insight Developer not always showing the full trace for a Web Service request Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Insight Developer not always showing the full trace for a Web Service request

Hello,

I am just getting started using Insight Developer and I am trying to profile a SOAP web service in my application. I am getting some weird behaviour and was hoping someone may have an idea what is going on.

First, depending on the request I make I get one of two traces:

1) Trace starts at the servlet POST and then shows full stack (* see next issue).
    2) Trace starts at one of the DAO methods and only shows the stack for that call, nothing surrounding it.

The second issue is the trace does not show private method invocations and instead shows any public methods invoked internally at the same level as the previous public method. i.e.

getList (public)
    ...........getfromDb (private)
    .....................execute (public)

is shown as:

getList
    execute

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Bill

Hi Bill,
    Insight weaves into a specific set of APIs based on the plugins that you have deployed. It could be that we currently don't cover the framework you're using. That also explains why you see your DAO without the rest of the stack or why you don't see calls to private methods.

The easiest way to fix this is to add the @InsightOperation annotation to your code to instruct Insight to collect more data or to write your own plugin that will collect the information you need.

You can find more details and examples on github: https://github.com/SpringSource/spring-insight-plugins

-Tal

Comment

Hi Tal,