Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• is there a configurable JMS Receiver bean?

Hi,

I am new to Spring JMS. I used DefaultMessageListenerContainer with the following configuration

<bean id="listenerContainer" class="org.springframework.jms.listener.DefaultMes sageListenerContainer" depends-on="messageListener">
    <property name="connectionFactory" ref="usageListenConnectionFactory" />
    <property name="concurrentConsumers" value="5" />
    <property name="receiveTimeout" value="300000" />
    <property name="destination" ref="usageListenQueue" />
    <property name="messageListener" ref="messageListener" />
    </bean>

However this does not meet our requirement. We want the Container to poll for messages every 5 minutes. The value of 300000 works like this only if there are no messages on the queue. But if there are messages on the queue, it keeps retrieving them. Is there a Listener implementation by Spring that will wake up every 5 mins (or some other confiugurable interval) ignoring the load on the queue ?

If there is no such implementation, I am thinking of writing piece of logic using Quartz that will wake up every 5 mins and receive any messages synchronously. So I think I am asking about a configurable JMS Receiver bean, if any available in Spring.

Many many thanks

- atanum

You can use the Timertaskexecutor and set a delay.

Then i think each consumer would only consume <maxMessagesPerTask> or 10 (default) number of messages per run, if you can set <maxMessagesPerTask> to reasonable value based on your load then it could work for you.

Comment

Originally posted by atanum View Post
      The value of 300000 works like this only if there are no messages on the queue. But if there are messages on the queue, it keeps retrieving them.