X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Automatic reconnects

I'm new to AMQP and RabbitMQ, and I have a simple project set up using Spring AMQP to consume messages from a queue. As far as I can tell, there's nothing built in to attempt reconnects in the event of a lost connection. Is that right? I saw this thread:
    http://forum.springsource.org/showthread.php?t=93955

Is that still a recommended way to go? Given the high level of similarity between Spring AMQP and Spring JMS, I'd expect that there would eventually be an AMQP DefaultMessageListenerContainer that will handle things like this. If I want to get automatic reconnects, which direction should I look?

On a related note, might it be possible to generify the JMS DefaultMessageListenerContainer (and other JMS classes) to work for JMS, AMQP, and message protocol X by doing some refactoring and creating a new module like "spring-messaging"? The spring-messaging module would be the API-ish thing with providers (JMS, AMQP, X) plugged into the back end, very much like spring-amqp is intended to support multiple AMQP providers. It seems this would add a lot of value by making important functionality--like auto-reconnect--immediately available to spring-amqp and any other message protocols that might come along, assuming they conform to the same basic idiom.

I believe you are asking for this feature: https://jira.springsource.org/browse/AMQP-93

It has been resolved and will be available in the upcoming M3 release.

Comment