Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Use AMQP without Spring Framework core libraries.

Hi,

I am a newbee here.
    I started playing around with samples.

We are not using Spring Framework in my project. We have a need to work w
    I would like to know if there is an easier way to use Spring AMQP without taking rest of the libraries.

Thanks and appreciate for any help in advance.

Jiggy.

You lose a lot of things when not using spring completely if it will even work at all without an ApplicationContext.

For instance, Queues, Exchanges, and Bindings will not be redeclared automatically on reconnect unless they are beans.

I believe that Akka has a java API which supposedly has spring and guice integration if desired. We are using this library for one of our components.

Comment

Spring AMQP can be used as "just an API" rather than relying on the ApplicationContext. All you lose is the functionality that *can* be done automatically when there is a context in place to manage references to all the beans and their lifecycle events.

The AmqpAdmin interface (and RabbitAdmin implementation of that) offers all of the methods to declare Queues, Exchanges, and Bindings. You can add a ConnectionListener to the ConnectionFactory directly, and then assuming you have references to your own Queues and Exchanges (e.g. in a Map), you can declare them through the API upon each connection being established. If you look within the RabbitAdmin, you'll see that's what it's doing within its own initialization method (afterPropertiesSet).

That said, @jmalkin, can you explain a bit more about why you want to avoid the core libraries? Is it just that you aren't planning to use Spring for dependency management, or something else?

Comment

Thanks for the information.