Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• rabbitmq Retry/ Reconnection policy

Hi,

I am very new to rabbitmq. I have a question regarding the reconnection/retry attempt to rabbitmq server.
    Is anyone tried to configure the retry/reconnection policy in spring amqp? Here is my scenario,

Consumer should be able to reconnect -send and receive messages from rabbitmq whenever its comes up.

<bean id="retryTemplate" class="org.springframework.retry.support.RetryTemp late">
    <property name="retryPolicy">
    <bean class="org.springframework.retry.policy.SimpleRetr yPolicy">
    <property name="maxAttempts" value="1000"></property>
    </bean>
    </property>
    </bean>

<bean id="retryInterceptor"
    class="org.springframework.retry.interceptor.State fulRetryOperationsInterceptor"
    p:retryOperations-ref="retryTemplate">
    </bean>

<bean
    class="org.springframework.amqp.rabbit.listener.Si mpleMessageListenerContainer"
    p:connectionFactory-ref="rabbitConnectionFactory" p:queueNames="test.client.queue"
    p:messageListener-ref="messageListener" p:adviceChain-ref="retryInterceptor"/>

Is this correct?

You don't need a retry interceptor to get automatic re-connection of consumers and producers - just make sure you use the CachingConnectionFactory.

You have configured a retry interceptor for the listener itself, which is actually slightly orthogonal to the basic re-connection features. Declarative retry gives you full control over the number of attempts at processing an individual message, and if the container has to re-connect to the broker to achieve that it will happen automatically (independent of the retry configuration).

Note you have used a stateful interceptor which isn't really necessary when there are no acks (the default) - if there are no acks then the server will never send the same message more than once, so the interceptor doesn't have to remember them.

Comment

Hi Dave,