Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Asynchronous / multi-threaded processing of AMQP messages

Greetings,

As a proof-of-concept, I recently started using the base Spring AMQP module (RC1) to perform basic putting and fetching of serialized JSON messages to and from a RabbitMQ instance. For reading the messages, I was using SimpleMessageListenerContainer. This was great, as I was able to specify the the number of concurrent consumers on the queue via the concurrentConsumers property.

Since then, I have moved on to trying to prototype Spring Integration to build a loosely-coupled pipeline that performs operations triggered by messages delivered via AMQP. I would like to have a configurable number of workers reading from the queue and independently processing the requests, but I am unable to find a straightforward way to do this with the AMQP inbound channel adapter. As I am new to SI in general, I'm wondering if I'm missing some fundamental knowledge that makes this possible. This seems like a fundamental need across most of the Spring Integration stack, so it is clear that my understanding is flawed. Is there anyone out there willing to point me in the right direction?

Thanks,
    Will

Will, Spring Integration's AMQP inbound-channel-adapter builds directly on top of the Spring AMQP SimpleMessageListenerContainer. Knowing that... if we add the concurrent-consumers attribute on the adapter element's configuration, would that be sufficient for your needs?

Thanks,
    Mark

Comment

Originally posted by Mark Fisher View Post
      Will, Spring Integration's AMQP inbound-channel-adapter builds directly on top of the Spring AMQP SimpleMessageListenerContainer. Knowing that... if we add the concurrent-consumers attribute on the adapter element's configuration, would that be sufficient for your needs?

Thanks,
      Mark