Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parallel downloading of files from FTP servers

Hi,
    I am new to spring integration. We are currently using commons-vfs to download the files from the FTP servers and sometimes we need to download more than 20 files. Right now the downloading of files will happen in sequential meaning in a single thread. Is spring integration provides any features to download it in multiple threads? It will drastically reduces the time taken by our batch jobs.

regards,
    Ram

If you would configure concurrency for the poller on an FtpSource this should work. Each receive() call would block until a download is finished and then give you a Message<File>. There is no reason why this shouldn't work if you call receive from multiple threads. Please try it out and let me know how it goes. We're currently busy with some refactorings in FtpSource, so your input might be right on time.

Comment

I have a similar use case, where about 50 ftp servers are polled parallel. I read all needed ftpservers from a database and configure them dynamically. At the moment I only tested 2 in parallel, which works fine.
      However every FTPSource only processes 1 file on each poll, so the poll interval has to be small and for every file poll a new connection is established. (To me this smells like a bug, I expected the Source to poll until no messages are processed anymore. I'll open a JIRA entry for this).

Regards,
      Maarten

Comment

Funny you mention this, my changes (which have not been checked in yet) actually remove the disconnect from poll so that the connection stays open. We have been discussing to use a connection pool of some sorts.

Does it make sense to close the connection always if there are no more messages? This would still cause overhead when polling an empty ftp directory though.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this.

Comment