Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• File System Monitor, is Spring Integration the way to go?

Hi, I'm new to Spring Integration and I would like to know if you guys recommend it for a project I need to start working on and, as usual, with a very tight schedule and budget.
    I need to integrate with a legacy system by reading and writing XML files to a shared directory (and Web-Services from a business partner). Spring Integration provides polling capabilities, right? So all the infrastructure services for reading and writing files to a shared file system directory will be taken care by the framework, right?
    Since I'll be dealing with XML files, XSLT will be needed for transforming between formats. Incoming messages are digitally signed with XML Signature, so I need to validate it, and outgoing messages need to be signed by my application.
    Considering the scenario described above, would you recommend to go with Spring Integration? My guess would be: yes. I really appreciate your input.
    Best Regards,
    Jose M. Selman

Hey Jose,

Here's what SI and the file source support can do for you:

- poll the directory where you receive the files
    - filter the incoming files using the FileFilter
    - create one message for the every files found in a given directory (after message creation, the file will be deleted)
    - send it through a channel as a String message (you can apply an XSL transformation on the payload).

I guess that this should solve your problem, so the answer based on that is definitely yes.

-- Marius

Comment

Indeed, you could even use e.g. JAXB to automatically convert your XML document to a Java POJO if you wish, and it even isn't that hard .

Comment

- create one message for the every files found in a given directory (after message creation, the file will be deleted)