Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring Integration + WorkManager Thread Pools

Hello all,

I'm very new to Spring Integration - and I like it a lot so far, but I have one minor issue that I haven't found a solution for.

I was wondering if it is possible at this time to have Spring Integration utilize a pre-existing thread pool (for channel endpoints) configured with WorkManager instead of creating it's own?

For example:

Code:
    	<integration:message-bus />

<integration:channel id="emailMsgChannel" datatype="java.util.Map" />

<integration:endpoint input-channel="emailMsgChannel"-->
    		handler-ref="emailMsgHandler" handler-method="sendEmail" />

<bean id="emailMsgHandler"
    		class="email.EmailMessageHandler"
    		scope="singleton">
    		<property name="mailSender" ref="mailSender" />
    	</bean>
    I would want this EmailMessageHandler to use a thread from a WorkManager thread pool instead of one created by the Spring container.

If it's possible - how would I go about doing that?

Thanks for any advice.

bump...?

i work at a large company and our infrastructure folks frown upon (read: disallow) non-container managed threads...

it would also be a non-trivial endeavor to pursue running integration processes out of container.

this is one of our current sticking points associated with running any of the integration products mule, camel, spring integration.

i'm guessing my company is not alone in this position, so it amazes me that the providers of these otherwise fine integration products have somehow missed this seemingly obvious point.

Comment