X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to re-queue a message pulled from exception

I'm new to Spring Integration and have a working flow, but now I'm working on handling errors.

I am catching errors using an exception-type-router then sending those through a Control Bus to stop polling and re-queue the error message.

I thought I could just send the message I got from the Exception back to the Message Channel, which is a queue, but it doesn't work.
    Code:
    notificationQueue.send(MessageBuilder.withPayload(messageAtFailure.getPayload()).build());
    When I monitor it using jmx, I see that the message is sent, but it never gets queued.
    How can I re-queue the message?

First of all you should try to avoid using framework components in your services; just code to POJOs and let the framework take care of the messaging.

Error handling is one exception, although in many cases you can avoid it there too, using transformers, header enrichers etc.

Further, it's usually better for questions like this if you show pertinent parts of your configuration.

The actual error handling really depends on the structure of your flow. Typically, if the inbound entry point is a gateway, you only get one shot at dealing with the exception, unless you add additional error handling to your flow.

The ErrorMessage payload is a MessagingException (the ETR drills down through the cause tree to find the most specific exception for which there is a mapping).

The MessagingException has two properties 'failedMessage' (the original message) and 'cause'.So typically, for use cases like yours, people extract the failedMessage (with a transormer) and send it to some recovery flow. However, as I said, there are other considerations, depending on the overall flow configuration.