Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Multithreaded Integration model

Hi,

I'm new to spring. I would like to know if we can create a multithreaded integration model.

I want to listen from a jms queue and update my database. I want the process to run in say 'N' number of threads.

Is there any way to achieve this. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
    Jey

Hi!

Classic case just to use concurrent-consumers on the <int-jms:message-driven-channel-adapter/>.

Is it what are you looking for?

Artem

Comment

Hi Cleric,

Just testing my understanding, if i give concurrent-consumers="5" there will be 5 concurrent threads? So it will read 5 messages from the queue at a time is that right?

Thanks,
      Jey

Comment

Yes.
        Just read JavaDocs: http://static.springsource.org/sprin...Container.html
        and Manual: http://static.springsource.org/sprin.../html/jms.html

Comment

Is there any risk of same message being processed twice?

Comment

Is there any risk of same message being processed twice?
            If you mean case of concurrent-consumers, then no.
            Otherwise it depends of your transaction atomicity:
            If your get a Message and process it in the new transaction (e.g. DB), then your JSM transction will be roll backed, so, that Message will return to the queue and will be processed again on the next consumption.
            So, just do entire message process in the JTA transaction, including JMS & DB.

Comment

I was able to do it. Thanks .

But there were few concerns. with concurrent-consumers few messages are lost and few messages are read multiple times.

I had 52 messages in my queue and set the concurrent-consumers="10" and finally i got only 33 distinct messages(19 messages lost) and i had 17 duplicate messages.

Am i missing any other configuration?

Comment

Am i missing any other configuration?
                Show it!
                19 messages lost ... i had 17 duplicate messages