Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Polling email sets task flag in Outlook, why?

Hello,

I'm new to SI so I could be missing something. That being said here is the issue I am experiencing. I have set up an inbound-channel-adapter to poll for email over an IMAP uri. When I start up the app and it reads the unread emails it sets a task flag on the messages it has read. Note, this is not behavior I want nor do I understand why this is occurring. Has anyone had this experience before? Do you know what could be causing it?

Doug

It's not clear which flag you are talking about.

If you mean the "SEEN" flag, there's an attribute on the adapter "should-mark-messages-as-read" which defaults to true.

Set it to "false" to not set this flag.

Also, for mail servers that don't support the "RECENT" flag, the adapter sets a flag to mark messages it has already retrieved so it doesn't keep getting the same message(s). If the server supports user-defined flags, the flag is "spring-integration-mail-adapter"; if it doesn't support user flags, it sets the FLAGGED flag. In either case, this is used by the DefaultSearchTermStrategy to avoid getting the messages next time.

Can you explain exactly what your issue is?

Comment

Gary,

The behavior I am seeing is that after the email is read there is a "to-do task" set on the message in outlook. Here are the settings I have configured for the adapter.
      Code:
      	<int-mail:inbound-channel-adapter id="poll-for-email"
      	                                  channel="inboundChannel"
      	                                  java-mail-properties="javaMailProperties"
      	                                  store-uri="imaps://test%40test.com:[email protected]/INBOX"
      	                                  should-delete-messages="false" should-mark-messages-as-read="true">
      		<int:poller fixed-rate="60000"/>
      	</int-mail:inbound-channel-adapter>