Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Spring Integration Standalone vs Spring Integration in App server Container Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring Integration Standalone vs Spring Integration in App server Container

Hi,
    i am new to SI. I am planning to use SI for my project. My project has got front end and backend. Communication is based on JMS queues. I am planning to use SI in backend. Planning to use multiple instances of SI so as to achieve scalability/failover. My requirement is just the backend process not the web app. I want to achieve scalability, robustness and failover, etc., Can i achieve this by standalone deployment (just the main wrapper class to start the application context) or should i place the spring application in container such as tomcat. is there any advantage if the spring application is deployed in container. Please advice.

If the only "endpoints" for your backend app are the adapters connecting to JMS queues, then you don't need to run in a servlet container... the logical spring container (ApplicationContext instance) is sufficient. There are some reasons you might still want to run in a container (management/monitoring/shared-library) so you should weigh the option based on those factors. Even then there are some options that do not require a container (e.g. Spring Integration exposes tons of JMX metadata, and all you need is a single <mbean:export> in the configuration).

Hope that helps.
    -Mark

Comment