Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring Integration as alternative for ESB ?

Hi All,

I am not a pro in this topic, i knew bits and pieces in this topic enterprise integrations.

Right now I have 50+ applications solving various business requirements and they talk to each other via web services directly one to one. So it is getting tedious to maintain and know which service calls which one, and when a service is down we don't know unless otherwise user reports about it. To overcome all these we are planning to have some
    kind of mediation layer which can route calls and also have provision for other messaging types..

Here i started learning about Enterprise Integration Patters and understand the ESBs are a close implementation on EAI. I would like to know where does spring integration, Spring AMQP fits in to this EAI ? How does these stack compare to
    1. Oracle ESB
    2. Fuse ESB (Apache Service Mix, Camel, CXF etc.. )

Is it right to compare it with these frameworks or apps ?

Regards
    Cres.

Interesting and rather complex question.
    Let me parse it out into a subset of smaller questions.
    1. To ESB or not to ESB? IMHO ESB is nothing more then a way for a dedicated runtime environment to host EIP components. In other words ESB is yet another server you would have to maintain. Besides another server to maintain you may end up in the situation of learning new programming model as well as re-factoring and/or re-writing your existing services to fit a particular ESBs programming model. So, my conclusion is - risky and unnecessary, however the ESB vendors would probably tell you otherwise while supporting their claims with pretty pictures and diagrams that would rarely impress a seasoned developer, but could pose a threat if you (the developer) stuck with it because the were able to impress your CIO.